Huntsman Blog

The Daily Hunt

Read our Blog Latest Post

2017 Region III Conference: Dallas

The National Association of Black Journalists’ Region III Conference will take place at the Marriot Suites – Market Center in Dallas on March 10-12.

You can register on

Last year’s conference was hosted by our Memphis Chapter and we are hoping that several chapter members can make it to Dallas to show support. Plus, NABJ is bringing the IRE Watchdog Workshop back. Remember, space is limited so register ASAP.

Visit the website to learn more about this year’s workshops, receptions, and activities.

Room Rate: $105, includes breakfast. ($97 for room only)

Let us know if you will be joining NABJ/MABJ in the Lone Star State.

Kontji Anthony Named WMCTV Co-Anchor

MEMPHIS, TN (WMC) – WMC Action News 5 in Memphis announced that Kontji Anthony will be co-anchor for WMC Action News 5 at 5pm, 6pm, and 10pm. Anthony came to WMC Action News 5 in July of 2005, where she started as a reporter. She was promoted to weekend anchor in 2008, then 4pm anchor in 2015. Anthony has been filling in, anchoring the 4pm, 5pm, 6pm, and 10pm newscasts since December, 2015, and will now be a permanent fixture in those newscasts.

Successful NABJ Region III Conference In Memphis

We’re thrilled that Memphis was selected as the host city for the Region III Conference. Over 100 journalists from the Southeast region convened in Memphis for over two dozen workshops and panels to help advance the professional interests in black media professionals in the south.

New Executive Board Named For 2017

Congratulations to the 2016 Executive Board of the Memphis Association Of Black Journalists. The board members were selected by plurality vote in November 2015. Appointments are listed below.

President – Siobhan Riley

(Reporter-WREG TV 3)

Vice Pres. Broadcasting – Noel Hutchinson

(Host- Black Thought TV-MUTV1)

Vice Pres. Print – Trennie Williams
(Editor- Silverstar Newspaper)

Vice Pres. Public Relations – Danielle Inez(Owner- Ding Marketing)

Vice Pres. Digital Media

Poinesha Barnes (Producer WREG TV 3)

Secretary – Michael Quander

(Reporter- WREG TV 3)

Treasurer – Richard Thompson

(Owner- Mediaverse Blog Site)

Parliamentarian – Montee Lopez

(Producer – Local 24 TV News)

Student Liaison – Victoria Brinkley

(Producer – WREG TV 3)


Are you interested in membership, partnership, or collaboration? Complete the form below and an appropriate member of the MABJ team will contact you with next steps.